My Brother Slept Through An Earthquake

Hello!

If you follow my twitter or Instagram, you would be aware I’m in Kos… There was also an earthquake there very early on Friday morning. The largest one in the area for around 85 years or something. I was there for it, because I’m that kind of lucky person.

I’ve never been in an earthquake before this point. I wasn’t at the epicentre but even at my hotel the room was shaking like crazy. Fortunately it is well designed and modern enough that no serious damage was done and no one was injured.

But that doesn’t mean that no one was scared. Of all the stuff I’ve done, I’d say this is the point I have been most seriously concerned about if I would actually survive.

I don’t know if I was awake before it, or if it woke me up but the first thing I remember was everything shaking dramatically for what felt like ages, but was probably not much longer than 30 seconds. It stopped for probably a minute or 2, then happened again. For the next maybe half hour or hour there was a number of much smaller 3 secondish aftershocks.

When I woke up properly (when I say wake up, I mean gave up trying to sleep) I found out that my brother literally slept through the entire thing and didn’t believe us until he saw it on the news. Where we were, at an estimate we think the main 2 earthquakes we felt were no bigger than a 4. But still, it was loud and pretty dramatic.

It became more dramatic when we hears running water. The shaking caused the pools water to slosh around and its contents were running down the stairs in an ankle high river.

I wrote this post on Sunday 23July and its only today that there were no aftershocks, but on both Friday and Saturday evening there were small ones while we had dinner.

Some people’s reactions was pretty ridiculous. They survived the big one. But they scream, run out of the room (further into the building, which is kind of dumb) and abandon their meals. I think those two evenings are the emptiest I’ve seen the dining room.

In all seriousness, I’m glad no one in my resort was hurt, the casualty and number of deaths was relatively low, although some were still injured or killed, my thoughts go out to them and their families. The staff at the resort were amazing. 

Please give this post a like if you found it interesting, maybe leave a comment on any of your own experiences. If you want to see more of what I have to say please feel free to follow me. If you are not on the WordPress reader my socials should be linked at the top.

 AwkwardHuman xx

One thought on “My Brother Slept Through An Earthquake

  1. Howdy very cool website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally?
    I’m glad to seek out a lot of useful information right here within the post, we need work out extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

